Using your Minuteman Library Card for Database Access
Access to databases provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners is available to home/remote users holding a valid Minuteman library card.
Access to databases provided by the Minuteman Library Network is available to residents of the 36 public library communities served by MLN, as well as current students, faculty, and staff of the seven academic libraries in MLN.
Access to some databases purchased by individual MLN libraries is limited to in library use in that library and, where possible, home/remote access for patrons of that community.
CLICK HERE for a complete ALPHABETICAL LIST of databases available at the Westwood Public Library, with content descriptions.
In addition to the databases available through the Westwood Public Library, Massachusetts residents are also eligible to use resources from the Boston Public Library (BPL). If you do not already have a BPL Card, you can apply for a BPL eCard. ECards expire after 3 years unless they are upgraded to standard BPL cards. Register online for a BPL eCard to access more databases via the Boston Public Library:
E-Journals Finder - Ebsco A to Z List -- Are you looking for a specific journal or article? Search by title or browse by subject to access over 11,850 electronic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Databases Listed by Subject
- Boston Globe (1980 - to date)
- Historical Boston Globe (1872-1979) : Home access limited to Westwood residents only.
- New York Times (1985 - to date)
- New York Times.com (Historic Coverage 1851-1922 and 1981 to Current).
- In Library Use
- Home Access. Click "Redeem" and log in or create an account to use the promotional code for 72 hours of free access to NY Times online.
- Enjoy free access to NYTimes.com. For both in-library and home access, create an account and log in using that account. Coverage includes 1981 to Current, plus historic coverage 1851-1922. Home Access includes NY Times App and 5 Premium Archive (1923-1980) articles per day. For more information For more information, click here.
- Transcript & Bulletin and Westwood Press (ending May 2019)
- Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank)
- Transcripts and audio of radio shows, including those syndicated by NPR, APR, and more.
- Transcripts of cable news and opinion, such as shows from ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX NEWS, MSNBC, and more.
- U.S. Newspapers, Newswires, Magazines/Blogs and Professional Journals.
- International Newspapers, Newswires, Magazines/Blogs and Professional Journals
- America's Obituaries & Death Notices