April 2018 / Book Club

Main Library

Apr 9

Mon 7:00 pm

Poetry Reading: Lynne Viti and Heather Bryant

Celebrate National Poetry Month by listening to local poets Lynne Viti and Heather Bryant read from their recent publications. Books will be available for purchase and signing following the reading. Viti's first collection of poems, Baltimore Girls was released by Finishing Line Press in 2017, and her newest chapbook,The Glamorganshire Bible, will be released in May 2018. She is a senior lecturer in the Writing Program at Wellesley College, and a Westwood resident.Heather Bryant is also a lecturer in the Writing Program at Wellesley College. Eve’s Lament is Bryant's new poetry collection

Read More

Children's Department

Apr 10

Tue 6:30 pm

Mother-Daughter Book Club (Grades 3-5 & female adult)

For girls in grades 3-5 and a female adult.  Share your enthusiasm for reading with other book lovers and join us for a lively discussion, a game of Pictionary, snacks, and fun! Books will be available at the Children’s Department one month prior to the book club! Email Lizzy at ehmcgovern@minlib.net if you plan to join or for more information.

Read More

Main Library

Apr 20

Fri 10:30 am

Friday Morning Book Club

Join us for a monthly book discussion! No registration is required. Copies of the book are available at the Main Library and the Islington Branch Library. Call 781-320-1045 or email Molly at mriportella@minlib.net with questions.

Friday, Jan. 26, 2018: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Friday, Feb. 23, 2018: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Friday, Mar. 23, 2018: Wonder by RJ Palacio

Friday, Apr. 20, 2018: Tapestry of Fortunes by Elizabeth Berg

Friday, May 18, 2018: Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt

Friday, June 22, 2018: Delicious! by Ruth Reichl

Friday, July 27, 2018: Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan

Friday, Aug. 24, 2018: Hillbilly Elegy : a memoir of a family and culture in crisis by J.D. Vance.

Friday, Sept. 28, 2018: My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry by Fredrik Backman

Friday, Oct. 26, 2018: Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill by Sonia Purnell

Friday, Nov. 30, 2018: News of the World by Paulette Jules

Friday, Dec. 14, 2018: Yankee Book Swap

Read More